h1

grab bag

June 1, 2007

I should have one topic for everybody today.  Lot’s of things cooking in my noggin.  Enjoy.

Of all the “scripture hijacking” in the NT, how come Jesus seems to be the worst offender?  Check out Micah 7:6 vs. Matthew 10:35-36.  At least I don’t get it…

If someone says, “I can’t believe anyone would send their kids to public school”, is it personal condemnation to the ones that do or could it simply be a conclusion made without all facts (aren’t all our decisions that way)?  Or maybe it’s hyperbole?  But then again it could be a reaction to those that would say, “Why would you want to homeschool, you should send your kids to school with the professionals”.  Either way, can’t we all get along here?

Is there a political opposite to a “liberal hawk”?

Is my preoccupation with Keith Urban’s music unhealthy?  I haven’t wanted to buy my favorite guitarists guitar since 1991…

Why do I raise my voice to my children when they have done something wrong but not to my spouse?  After all, she should know better…

Despite the evidence to the contrary in the Bible, why do I think God wants to and should rub me out for my weakness in following Him?  I think I am too German for my own good…

10 comments

  1. We humans live in a world of cause and effect. As spiritual beings, we also long to live in a spiritual world of cause and effect. The same impulse that leads to legalism leads to self-deprecation. (Both despite evidence to the contrary in the Bible.) I just have to keep reminding myself that cause and effect does hold true spiritually—but it’s not the cause and effect we see everyday. We forget the cause 2,000 years ago that effects our life of grace…


  2. “I can’t believe anyone would send their kids to public school.”

    “Why would you want to homeschool, you should send your kids to school with the professionals.”

    Both statements imply personal condemnation and neither are acceptable as hyperbole.


  3. So how does one with convictions on either side of the subject express their gut feelings without offending either side?


  4. Making statements like that goes beyond stating personal conviction to, “This is what’s right for everyone and I’ll go ahead and insult you as I tell you how I’ve come to my conclusion.”

    In the course of conversation those statements are judgements, not arguments. They are also typically made in situations where the topic is not even being debated.

    I think the first step is realizing it’s a subjective issue. It is a subjective issue isn’t it?


  5. One more thing … either approach has it’s pros and cons. Those statements address real issues … they just happen to throw in ad hominem in the process.

    Yes, kids are exposed to some very unpleasant things in public schools. Just as every parent should assess whether they are up to the task of effectively homeschooling their child.


  6. “Yes, kids are exposed to some very unpleasant things in public schools. Just as every parent should assess whether they are up to the task of effectively homeschooling their child”

    I think you summed up the whole thing in that one sentence. It boils down to whether one reason trumps in the other in each unique parenting situation.

    The unpleasant things in public schools could be agreed upon through a discourse on the subject. What about effective homeschooling? How would you define that?


  7. “It boils down to whether one reason trumps in the other in each unique parenting situation.”

    I think there are other reasons/factors involved than just these two — which aren’t really related, they just happen to be some of the most common.

    “What about effective homeschooling? How would you define that?”

    I was thinking I should have said, “…whether or not they are up to the task of effectively educating their child.”

    Does the parent have the structure and discipline? Does the parent have any teaching skill? Is the parent going to provide a well rounded education and resist the temptation to only teach subjects they like or do well in? Is the parent going to be able to recognize if the child is not learning at the level it needs to and just make excuses for it? Is the parent going to expect things beyond the level where the child is able? Does the parent have the ability to mentally and emotionally separate themselves from the child’s educational performance of the day?


  8. Do you think public school teachers are devoid of those tendencies and challenges? You could substitute “teacher” for “parent” in your last paragraph and it still be completely valid.


  9. “Do you think public school teachers are devoid of those tendencies and challenges?”

    No. The same questions must be addressed regarding either approach.


  10. I can’t believe any loving Christian parent would make their child use a PC instead of a Mac.



Leave a Reply

