h1

Bait and Switch

January 2, 2007

I received a request for charity last month.  The request went something like this:

World Vision, the Christian relief and development
organization, has partnered with EMI Christian Music Group to
offer the Chris Tomlin release “See the Morning”AT NO ADDITIONAL
COST to anyone who gives a gift of $20 or more.

I thought to myself, “I will end up having to have this CD because invariably a song or two from it will make it into the modern worship music collective”.  So I followed the link, made a donation, and expected the CD in the mail.

A few weeks later, I received the CD in mail, along with a explanation of giving.  It turns out the CD is not free.  My gift to World Vision was actually diminished by the market value of the CD.  So the shipping was free.  I paid for the CD.  I think the paragraph above could be changed to be more clear.

I felt a little icky after thinking through this.  I had been “had” in a manner of speaking.  I guess I am bothered mostly that I paid for the Chris Tomlin CD.  😉

4 comments

  1. At least it wasn’t a Daughtry Cd….


  2. That would have been a total gyp, wouldn’t it. 😛 I actually am beginning to like the second half of the Tomlin CD.


  3. […] You know, in the recent and distant past, I have beenquick to criticize Chris Tomlin.  In a recent post I panned his new release , See the […]


  4. *applauds*



Leave a Reply

