h1

High Tenor Friday Distraction

June 2, 2006

I really like listening to high tenors sing.  There's a ready made passion in the voice of a man screaming.  😉

So here's a list of some of my favorites in order according to the top of their ranges.  Any others out there I missed that you like?

  • Derek Webb
  • Joel Hanson
  • Vince Gill
  • Steve Perry
  • John Elefante
  • Brad Delp
  • Geoff Tate

I have recordings of Brad Delp and Geoff Tate (More Than a Feeling and Queen of the Reich respectively) both hitting E above high C.  In the Hertz world, that is 660Hz.  Concert A is 440Hz and middle C on the piano is 262Hz.

In layman's terms, the high E is crazy high.  A recent blog of mine described me hitting high C and nearly shooting gray matter from my ears.  😉  I don't think I will shoot for 660Hz any time soon.

2 comments

  1. I’ll stick to my instrument, on which hitting C1 takes no more effort than hitting C5. 🙂


  2. Don’t forget Michael Sweet.



Leave a Reply

