h1

Class A enjoyment

May 8, 2006

My AmpI took the opportunity last night while my kids were playing in the basement to crank up the 5 watt Class A Crate Amp I bought awhile back.  I blasted some Rush tunes out of my iPod and played along like I was in high school again, all giddy like a school girl.

Partly because I remembered so much of the music after 20 plus years, but mostly because I got to enjoy my new amp.  Wow.  Class A means sooo much to those that have been enchanted by its purity of tone and dynamic responsiveness.  I could go on awhile about it, but it would be "like dancing about architecture".

Grace Under Pressure - RushFor those that are engineering minded or intellectually curious, here's a link to a comparison of different classes of amplification.  You can scroll down to the end of the page for the conclusion if the theory gets to be too much. In the end, simplicity and inefficiency win the day when it comes to guitar tone.

Leave a Reply

