h1

What a Bargain

March 21, 2006

I heard the Who song “Bargain” on the River 97.1 the other day and it got me thinking.  I know the song is most likely about a girl, or even a guy if Pete wrote it.   Anyway, I thought these lyrics could be a picture of what my relationship with Christ should be.  In my life, the things described here not realized easily.  What about you?

I’d gladly lose me to find you
I’d gladly give up all I had
To find you, I’d suffer anything and be glad
I’d pay any price just to get you
I’d work all my life, and I will
To win you, I’d stand naked, stoned and stabbed

I’d call that a bargain
The best I ever had
The best I ever had

I’d gladly lose me to find you
I’d gladly give up all I got
To catch you, I’m gonna run and never stop
I’d pay any price just to win you
Surrender my good life for bad
To find you, I’m gonna drown an unsung man

I sit looking ’round
I look at my face in the mirror
I know I’m worth nothing without you
And like, one and one don’t make two
One and one make one
And I’m looking for that free ride to me
I’m looking for you

I’d gladly lose me to find you
Gladly give up all I got
To catch you, I’m gonna run and never stop
I’ll pay any price just to win you
Surrender my good life for bad
To find you, I’m gonna drown an unsung man

7 comments

  1. I am having trouble with the translation. Kind of like when Nichole Nordeman did “In Your Eyes” previously by Peter Gabriel. Just can’t get in the swing of taking a song about a chick and translating it to a song about Jesus.


  2. Bulldawgy, I encourage you to get over it. Art is subjective. If there is truth in it then offer it up in worship.

    I much prefer Peter’s original over Nicole’s cover though.

    What I can’t stand is the stuff that covers popular songs and then changes the words to make it Christian. For example, taking “Free Falling” by Tom Petty and changing it to “Free From Sin.” That’s just a lose/lose situation for both the music and the message.


  3. Bulldawgy, you missed the point. I was not saying we should take songs about “chicks” and make them into spiritual songs. My point was the Bargain song lyric exemplified what my relationship with Christ should look like, one of sacrifice, that is all.

    I am with David, Christianized covers stink. And maybe Nicole recorded this song as a love song to her husband. We don’t know. Don’t get me started on the FISH playlist… 😉


  4. But what do you think about Christian parodies (like the ApologetiX?). I think the comedic value in totally remaking a secular song with Christian lyrics (not preaching, but having fun) is worthwhile.


  5. Believe me – I don’t have a problem with art.

    I just read the lyrics, and knowing they are about some chick – have trouble seeing them as indicative of what my relationship to Christ should be.

    It’s like trying to think of Jesus’ as my girlfriend. Ewwww!


  6. It’s like singing that Darrell Evans spew “I am in love with You”. Come on, can’t we come up with something to describe our devotion to Christ other than the line we used on Missy at the high school Christmas Ball???

    :mrgreen:


  7. Yikes!!! I just noticed it could be about a guy – I totally have the heebadajeebedies. 😯



Leave a Reply

